Brief History of the Southport Masonic Hall
The Southport Masonic hall started life in 1876 as the Duke Street United Methodist Church when the memorial stones were laid by the Mayor of the Borough of Southport. The work progressed under the guidance of architects Maxwell, Tuke and Hurst when, after delays in the programme due to occasional shortage of money, the building was formally opened on Sunday 10th September 1879. Interestingly, architects Maxwell, Tuke and Hurst also designed The Atkinson Art Centre in Southport as well as the iconic Blackpool Tower.
This image was taken some time after 1940
During the next few years following it’s opening, the church building was extended with the addition of a Sunday school and other improvements including the installation of electric lighting.
In the early 1950’s the Southport freemasons purchased the premises from the church authorities and set about converting the building to provide accommodation as you see it today. In an acknowledgement of the beauty and classical architecture of the building, in 1999 it was awarded Grade II listed classification.
“Originally, the body of the church was two stories with an upper gallery giving the congregation a view to the ground floor where the ceremonies were conducted. This photograph, taken from the rear of the 1st floor, shows the organ, the edge of the upper gallery, the Altar on the ground floor and the pulpit behind as can be seen by the short stairway leading to it. The alterations closed the hole in what is now the ceiling of the Scarbrough dining room enabling the upper story to be used as the principal lodge room. The Altar and pulpit are situated where the stage now is”